Kant’s Categorical Imperative

Hoon Lee
3 min readFeb 24, 2022
Kant

If you’ve ever spent time reading Immanuel Kant, you will know that he likes his philosophical terminology. In fact, what he is probably best known for is definitely an example of those beloved terms. Of course, I am talking about the categorical imperative.

So, what exactly is the categorical imperative. Naturally, Kant is addressing a type of imperative, or a command. The categorical imperative is a directive, a mandate, an obligation. But it is not just any command; it is not conditioned. When I say, “Close the door,” I am saying an imperative. When I say, “It is loud. Close the door,” I am saying a conditioned imperative. Hypothetically, since it is loud, I am telling you to close the door. the imperative is based on the condition that it is loud. The categorical imperative is categorical, not hypothetical. The imperative Kant is addressing is unconditioned and universal. It is not based on the situation and there are no exceptions.

Now that we know what a categorical imperative means, what does Kant’s categorical imperative actually entail? To complicate matters a bit, Kant’s categorical imperative is commonly given in three forms. Kant never makes things easy. Here is the categorical imperative in its three forms:

-Act only according to that maxim by which you can at the same time will that it should become a universal law.

--

--

Hoon Lee

My focus is ethics, the history of philosophy, and religious studies. You can find me at twitter.com/hoonjlee1